One week post-op!

For those who haven’t been following along at home, the Making Strides fundraiser was a success, the lumpectomy was a success, and my charity Halloween party was a success. Pretty good news in a time that has been a little stressful, to say the least!

My pain is not too bad, although it flared up yesterday and today. I realized that I have been overdoing it, which I swore to myself I wouldn’t. I think I do indeed have a problem asking for help. The first two or three days after surgery I was okay with being taken care of, taking it easy, etc. But by days 3-4 I started doing more than I should simply to avoid asking Julian (or anyone else) to help me. I asked myself why this is, and I realized it’s because I am afraid people will think I am lazy, malingering, or taking advantage of their good nature. Even today I swore I wouldn’t pick the kids up or physically exert myself and I found myself doing both rather than asking for assistance. Besides not liking asking for help, I also just really don’t like sitting still! There’s always so much to do and never enough time to do it.

The scar in my armpit looks amazing. One of the steri strips has come off the breast scar and it looks literally like a scratch. I mean it’s almost invisible. I don’t dare to hope the whole thing will look that way, but WOW. After all my worrying.

Next week I have a s**tload of appointments – followup with breast surgeon, radiation oncologist, medical oncologist, cancer naturopathist. I am nervous but interested to hear what they all have to say! Julian is supportive in me not wanting to do either radiation or Tamoxifen, but we’re both keeping open minds with regards to professional opinions and recommendations, as well as statistics.

That’s about it!

One thought on “One week post-op!

  1. Good luck with all your meetings! I hope for the very best for you. I still have 19 days ( yes, I am counting) until I get my meeting and the results. Started watching Downton Abbey today to get time to fly…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

