And away we go.

It’s been a day of tears. I’m going to be brief.

  • Tuesday, 12/8 – Portacath insertion in the am (see here if you want to know what that is). Local anesthetic and “something that makes me sleepy.”
  • One week recovery time.
  • Wednesday, 12/16 – First chemotherapy session at 8am. Three and a half hours of TC chemo drugs administered through the portacath at Swedish Cancer Center.
  • Saturday, 12/19 – Travel home to visit family for the holidays.

Sometime 3 – 5 days after the chemo administration I should start to experience the side effects. The immediate ones – flu-like symptoms, aches and pains, nausea – last 4 – 5 days. The hair loss, of course, will last more or less the course of the treatment.

Dr. Kaplan said the first week I will feel bad, the second week a little better, and the third week back to normal – at which point I get another treatment. I will have the drugs administered every 3 weeks for a minimum of 4 cycles. If I tolerate it well, he would like to do 6 cycles – which will take me right up to and through my birthday.

That’s really all I have to say right now.

Also one last thing. There is a shot they can give you called Neulasta that will up your white blood cell count to counteract the likelihood of getting an infection during chemo. Apparently, my insurance doesn’t cover it, so my option is to go without or to give myself a daily shot of another medication to do the same thing. THANKS, PREMERA.

Leave a Reply

