Short hair

I’m writing this from a room in the ER. What a fun holiday this has been!

So after all the diarrhea finally settled, my sister Kristin developed painful kidney stones and had to go to the ER Christmas Eve. My other sister Gretchen and my Mom took her. They were going to admit her but released her around 2am when she said she had to go home and take care of her twins, who are ten months old.

Yesterday, I started developing a sore throat and was running a low-grade fever, accompanied by a headache, and terrible joint pain in my knees, hips, and back. Julian called the doc and he said if my temp hit 100.5 I needed to go to the ER for a white blood cell count. We monitored my temp all day and the highest it went was 100.4. I took Advil on the reg as well.

Last night, my sister Kristin went back to the ER and was admitted. 

Today my hair was coming out like crazy so I booked an appointment to get it buzzed off. In the meantime, Kristin found out she was going to have to have surgery to remove the kidney stone which it turned out was so large that it was jammed. I went and got my hair cut (she didn’t buzz it but it’s still super short, I feel like a stranger) and after really wasn’t feeling well so took my temp and it was 100.6. So Julian and I kissed the kids and turned back around and went to the ER.

So now I’m in triage in the ER waiting to find out what’s going to happen. They’ve taken throat and nose cultures and a bunch of blood and I’m on a saline IV. Julian’s gone back to my Mom’s to put the kids to bed. 

A very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

